Healing Through Sound: How This NYC Voice Coach Uses Music to Heal

Tess in the City
6 min readApr 11, 2020
NYC-based Leslie Helpert helps people all over the world heal, communicate, and flourish with voice training.

Under dimmed lights with the glowing full moon lamp in the corner, we settled in restorative and restful poses on yoga mats across the studio floor. For over an hour, Leslie Helpert sang over us, taking turns to visit us individually, customizing her song to tune into exactly what we needed to hear. It was like a magic spell, designed specifically to soothe us into our softer, stronger versions of our souls. Afterwards, I felt like I was beaming white light, delicate and firm in my being.

I had been attending Leslie’s meditation and sound healing classes for several months at The Well, a wellness center near Union Square in Manhattan where “modern science meets ancient wisdom” when cases of the coronavirus began to rise in the United States. When Leslie emailed me this past week to tell me about an online global classroom she’s facilitating over the next three Wednesdays beginning this Wednesday April 8th, 2020, I wanted to share her work with others who may, like me, be striving to rebuild their foundation in the midst of upheaval due to the coronavirus. The following conversation has been condensed.

I am stunned by the range of your experiencesfrom being Bermuda and Denmark’s elected resident musician to coaching TED speakers to writing over 1,000 lyrical songs, novels, volumes of poetry, etc. I’d

--

--

Tess in the City

Subscribe below to the Healthy Writer where creativity and wellness meet. ❤https://www.youtube.com/user/IkHouVanJe2